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INTRODUCTION 
 
The Utah State Auditor's Office has compiled a “Little Manual” for Utah local districts, 
especially those with annual budgets of less than $100,000, to help them be financially 
accountable to their constituents and comply with state law.  It can be found at 
http://www.sao.utah.gov/resources/littleman.pdf. For questions please contact Mr. Van 
Christensen at (801) 538-1394, 1-800-622-1243, or vchristensen@utah.gov  
 
Utah State Code Title 17D-Chapter 03 classifies conservation districts as “Limited 
Purpose Local Government Entities.” Conservation districts are similar to local districts 
that do not have taxing authority and have small annual budgets. Hereafter the Utah State 
Auditor’s Office and Utah Conservation Commission have adapted the State Auditor’s 
Little Manual for use by conservation districts. The related requirements for local 
districts can be found in the Utah Code Title 17B-Chapter 01.  
 

UTAH CONSERVATION COMMISSION POLICY 
 
This manual is intended to be the guiding document for Utah’s conservation districts 
governance and accountability and contains the policy of the Utah Conservation 
Commission (UCC). The UCC policy adopted November 12, 2008 follows and is shown 
in bold italics throughout the document.  A reference page is provided after each policy 
summary below so the context of that policy can be quickly accessed. 
 

1. Maintain a full five member board and that: 1) vacancies are filled in a timely 
manner, 2) vacancies are advertised, 3) that interested citizens should be given the 
opportunity to be considered, and 4) candidates be presented to the conservation 
district election committee for their review and comments, see page 6.   

 
2. If the funds for board member compensation come from conservation district 

generated revenue then the conservation district must have a district 
compensation policy and the funds be part of the district’s budget process, see 
page 6.   

 
3. Compensation for time paid to a conservation district supervisor be limited to not 

more than $5,000 in any fiscal year (July 1 – June 30), see page 6. 
 
4. An elected or appointed district supervisor may not be an employee or provide 

services under a contract with the district, see page 7. 
 
5. The chairperson of the board should ensure that members of the board are 

provided with annual training on the requirements of the Utah Open and 
Public Meetings law, see page 7. 

 
6. Conservation districts shall have written minutes of their open meetings; and, 

districts with annual budgets of more than $50,000 shall, in addition, audio record 
open meetings, see page 8. 

 
7. Conservation districts that hold regular meetings that are scheduled in advance 
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over the course of a year shall give public notice at least once a year of the 
meeting schedule, giving dates, time, and place.  If regular meetings are not held, 
the board shall give no less than 24 hours public notice specifying the date, time, 
and place of the meeting, see page 9. 

 
8. Conservation districts shall prepare an annual budget prior to the beginning of 

each fiscal year that has been formally presented in a hearing and adopted by the 
board, see page 11. 

 
9. The period of July 1 – June 30 shall the budget year or fiscal year for Utah 

conservation districts, see page 11. 
 
10. Annually the UCC shall compile a summary of the state’s conservation districts 

budgets and send them to the State Auditor’s Office, see page 12. 
 
11. Conservation districts shall complete and submit yearly reports as required under 

Required Reports, see page 13. 
 
12. Conservation districts shall follow the accounting procedures outlined under 

Internal Control, see page 14. 
 
13. Conservation districts that have part-time or full-time employees shall have a 

personnel policy that conforms to the requirements of state and federal laws.  The 
district board shall review the policy annually to ensure compliance with state and 
federal law; and ensure that the policy is followed by district employees, see page 
14. 

 
14. Conservation districts shall have and comply with a purchasing policy that 

follows the requirements under Purchasing Policy, see page 15. 
 
15. Conservation districts shall follow the record retention schedules same as for 

municipalities under Record Retention, see page 17. 
 
16. Conservation district treasurers shall be bonded in accordance with Rule Number 

4 of the Utah State Money Management Council. Utah Code 51-7-3(25) states 
that, “A ‘Public Treasurer’ includes … the official of any…political subdivision, 
or other public body who has the responsibility for the safekeeping and 
investment of any public funds”, see page 18.   

 
Paper copies of this manual can be found in the Conservation District Administrative 
Handbook that is available in each conservation district office; or it can be obtained from 
the UCC office at Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, 
http://ag.utah.gov/conservation/UtahConservationCommission.html, or 
http://www.uacd.org. Please keep this manual with your district records and pass it on to 
the individual taking your place. 
 
The State Auditor’s Office publishes a Uniform Accounting Manual (UAM) which is 
much more comprehensive. It should be used for areas not covered by this manual; or, by 
conservation districts with revenues or expenses greater than $100,000 per year.  The 
UAM may be found at: www.sao.utah.gov/UAM/index.htm . 
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TRAINING 
 

The Utah State Auditor’s Office in cooperation with the Utah Association of 
Conservation Districts, Utah Association of Special Districts and the Utah Conservation 
Commission provides training for members of district boards, their staff and others as 
applicable.  The training is designed to help district officials increase their understanding 
of their role, functions, and responsibilities.  Topics covered include, but are not limited 
to items in this manual.  The training provides participants with the opportunity to ask 
questions and understand the concepts behind the related laws and requirements.  
 
The UACD provides training at annual state and zone meetings and through a web-based 
program at www.uacdtraining.org. Also, for those without access to the Internet paper 
copies can be obtained from your district’s zone coordinator. In addition, you may 
contact any of the following for further information and assistance.  
 
Utah Conservation Commission  
This state commission is within the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food and has the 
legal responsibility to maintain the conservation district structure and help district boards 
accomplish their duties and goals. The UCC accomplishes much of its responsibility by 
contracting with the Utah Association of Conservation Districts for field-level staff that 
regularly meet with conservation districts. This is especially the case when it comes to 
training. 
350 N. Redwood Rd. 
PO Box 146500 
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
(801) 538-7171 or (801) 538-7120 
Email: UDAF-Soilcons@utah.gov   
Internet: http://ag.utah.gov/conservation/UtahConservationCommission.html   
  
Utah Association of Conservation Districts  
The UACD represents Utah’s 38 conservation districts and is dedicated to their support 
and assisting with their proper and efficient operation. 
1860 N 100 E 
North Logan, UT 84341-1784 
(435) 753-6029 x. 8 
Email: gordon.younker@ut.nacdnet.net  
Internet: http://www.uacd.org/  
 
Utah Association of Special Districts 
The UASD is dedicated to promoting the proper and efficient operation of Utah special 
districts.  It assists special districts in fulfilling their respective missions by informing 
government and public officials about special districts, promoting district awareness, 
providing training and legislative updates, and input on current legislation. 
Mr. LeGrand W. Bitter, Executive Director 
Utah Association of Special Districts 
1272 West 2700 South 
Syracuse, UT 84075 
(801) 725-1312 
Email: uasdmail@yahoo.com 
http://www.uasd.org/index.php?option=com_frontpage  
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CONSERVATION DISTRICT BOARD RESPONSIBILITIES 
 
Stephen J. Gauthier explains in his book titled, “Governmental Accounting, Auditing and 
Financial Reporting,” that a governing board provides leadership needed for an entity to 
achieve its purpose.  A board is not free to act in any way it chooses, and is ultimately 
judged based upon the following four criteria: 

• Effectiveness – How well does the board achieve their objectives or purpose? 
• Efficiency – Does the board make optimal use of the resources placed under their 

control? 
• Compliance – Does the board comply with applicable policy, law, or regulation?  

(This area has particular emphasis in the government environment.)  
• Reporting – Does the board prepare regular financial reports made available to 

those who pay the tax or fee used to operate the district? 
 
This manual will focus on compliance and reporting criteria noted above.  Keep in mind 
that the underlying concept is that the governing board is accountable to its constituents 
for everything the conservation district does.  It is the board's duty to: 

• Manage the district for the benefit of its constituents. 
• Manage the district openly and democratically. 

 
Board members do not serve indefinitely.  Therefore, one of the most important things a 
board can do is to establish good policies and procedures that will last beyond an 
individual’s service.  Good policies and procedures will protect the district’s resources in 
the event that a future board member does not maintain high ethical standards. 
 
Generally, the following are areas of responsibility for governing boards in Utah: 

• Meetings  
• Budgeting 
• Accounting 
• Internal Control 
• Reporting 
• Personnel 
• Purchasing 
• Records (GRAMA) 
• Insurance 
• Fund Balance Limitation 

 
Each of the items noted above are discussed in their own sections of this manual.  The 
remainder of this section addresses other governing board considerations. 
 
Board Member Basic Governance and Accountability Responsibilities 
The conservation district act reads: “board of supervisors shall elect a chair from among 
their number, and may elect other officers from among their number that the board 
considers necessary.” [17D-3-301(4)] In addition to electing a chair the Conservation 
Commission encourages each conservation district to appoint a vice chair and a treasurer 
from the board; and, to hire a clerk or appoint a clerk from the board if a clerk can not be 
hired. Each officer serves at the pleasure of the board and the board may designate a set 
term for officers. The offices of chair, clerk, and/or treasurer should not be held by 
the same person.   
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Below are the general responsibilities of each officer as well as financial related 
governing board responsibilities.  (See Utah Code 17B-1-309 and 17B-1-631 through 
17B-1-638) 
 
Chair 
      ● Provides leadership for developing agendas, conducting meetings and fulfillment 
of district’s duties.  
      ● Assures governance and accountability for district compliance with Utah code and 
federal law, including annual training on the requirements of the Utah Open and Public 
Meetings law.  
 
Vice Chair 
      ● Fills duties of chair in his or her absences  
 
Clerk (or other designated person not performing treasurer duties) 
 ● Attend meetings and keep a record or minutes, of the proceedings 
 ● Maintain financial records 
 ● Prepare checks after determining that the claim: 
  ○ was authorized by the board or financial officer, 
  ○ does not over expend the budget and 
  ○ was approved in advance 
 ● Present a financial report at least quarterly to the board 
 ● May not sign a single signature check 
 
Treasurer (or other designated person not performing clerk duties) 
 ● Sign checks after determining that sufficient funds are available 
 ● Custodian of all money 
 ● Deposit and invest all money in accordance with title 51, chapter 7 of the State 

Money Management Act 
 ● Receive all funds 
 ● Issues a receipt for money received 
 
Entire board 
 ● Strives to fulfill duties and responsibilities as outlined in: the Conservation 

District Act - Utah Code, Title 17D, Chapter 03; in state laws applicable to all 
units of government such as the Open and Public Meetings law [Utah Code 52-4]; 
laws applicable to conservation districts found in Limited Purpose Local 
Government Entities General Provisions of the Utah Code 17C-1; and, policies of 
the Utah Conservation Commission [Utah Code 4-18].  

 ● Approve all expenditures – however the board may authorize a district manager or 
other official to act as the financial officer for the purpose of approving payroll 
checks, if the checks are prepared in accordance with a schedule approved by the 
board and routine expenditures, such as utility bills, payroll-related expenses, 
supplies, and materials. 

 ● Set a maximum sum over which all purchases may not be made without the 
board’s approval. 

 ● At least quarterly review all expenditures authorized by the financial officer.  (See 
Utah Code 17B-1-642) 

 ● A district with an expenditure budget of less than $50,000 per year shall also have 
a member of the governing board sign all checks. 
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Appointment / Election 
The conservation district board members are called “Supervisors”. They are elected to 
serve four-year terms of office. Supervisor election and board structure is outlined in 
17D-3-301 of the Utah Code. Candidates for elections come from a district level local 
multi-agency committee. The election is directed by the Utah Conservation Commission 
and carried out at the state level by the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. Ballots 
are sent via US Mail. 
 
If a vacancy should occur on a conservation district board, authority and guidelines to fill 
the vacancy are found in part 17D-3-310 of the district law and in UCC Policy on the 
topic. The UCC staff at the Utah Dept of Agriculture and Food can provide more details 
on the conservation district election and appointment processes. It is policy of the UCC 
that conservation districts maintain a full five member board and that a vacancy is 
filled in a timely manner; and, that the vacancies on boards should be advertised and 
interested citizens should be given the opportunity to be considered for the vacancy and 
candidates be presented to the conservation district election committee for their review 
and comments.   
 
Time Compensation - $5,000 yearly limit 
Board members may receive compensation for their time and expenses on a reimbursable 
basis as determined by the UCC or from district funds under the following conditions. 
Compensation to conservation district Supervisors is authorized in the district law, see 
[17D-3-301(6)]. The UCC provides some compensation to supervisors as funds are 
appropriated each year by the Utah Legislature for time, travel and expenses. The 
payment process is outlined in the UCC Conservation District Supervisors Expense 
Reimbursement Account (SERA) program policy. The UCC staff will notify the 
conservation districts of state SERA fund allocations and use so this can be included in a 
district’s budgeting and financial reporting process. It is policy of the UCC that if the 
funds for board member compensation come from conservation district generated 
revenue then the conservation district must have a district compensation policy and the 
funds be part of the district’s budget process.   
 
It is a requirement in the state’s local district law that board members not receive over 
$5,000 a year for compensation for their time. (See Utah Code 17B-1- 307). It is UCC 
policy that this $5,000 yearly (conservation district fiscal year July 1 – June 30) time 
compensation limit also applies to conservation district Supervisors. This applies to all 
compensation funds whether they come from the conservation district or UCC SERA 
program. The $5,000 limit does not include non time compensation expense 
reimbursements such as travel, meeting registrations, or miscellaneous purchases for 
district projects.  
 
If a district compensates a board member for time worked the IRS may require the 
district to report the amount paid either on a W2 Form or 1099 Form for tax purposes. 
The district should study the rules or consult with a tax advisor to learn the current 
requirement. 
 
Qualification 
Per the state’s local district law, it is the policy of the UCC that an elected or appointed 
district supervisor not be an employee or provide services under a contract with the 
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district when performing duties other than those described in the “Board Member 
Basic Governance and Accountability Responsibilities” section of this manual, see 
page 1 - 2.  There is an exception to this requirement when: 
 ● fewer than 3,000 people live within 40 miles of the primary place of employment, 

and 
 ● the job opening has had reasonable public notice and 
 ● the person employed is the best qualified candidate for the position.  (See Utah 

Code 17B-1-311) 
 
Ethics 
Utah Code 67-16 addresses ethics that affect all state and local governments including 
conservation districts.  Generally, ethics prohibit the acceptance and solicitation of gifts, 
compensation or loans by an elected or appointed public officer or employee; it also deals 
with conflicts of interest.  A public officer or employee may accept an occasional gift 
having a value of $50 or less.  A conflict of interest may be allowed as long as full and 
proper disclosure is made.  Please refer to Utah Code 67-16-7 and 67-16-8, state Attorney 
General’s office, or your county attorney for specifics. 
 
It is very important to understand this part of Utah Code because the penalties for 
violations are severe, as severe as a felony of the second degree in some cases. 
 
Nepotism 
Utah Code 52-3 addresses nepotism that affects all state and local governments including 
conservation districts.  Generally, it means that no public officer may employ, appoint, 
vote for, or recommend a relative for employment.  Further, no public officer may 
directly supervise an appointee who is a relative.  Relative means a father, mother, 
husband, wife, son, daughter, sister, brother, aunt, uncle, nephew, niece, first cousin, 
mother-in-law, father-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, son-in-law, or daughter-in-
law. 
 
There are several exceptions addressed in Utah Code 52-3-1(2)(a).  The most important 
exception is that the relative may be employed if he/she is the only person available, 
qualified, or eligible for the position.   
 

MEETINGS 
 

Utah Code 52-4 addresses open and public meetings that affect all state and local 
governments including conservation districts.  The law recognizes that local districts and 
conservation districts exist to conduct the people’s business and contains provisions 
designed to help ensure that a board’s actions and deliberations are conducted openly.   
 
In an effort to help ensure that meetings are conducted openly, Utah Code and UCC 
policy requires that the presiding officer of a governing board ensure that members 
of the board are provided with annual training on the requirements of this law.  The 
following sections may assist you in providing this training.  
 
Open Meetings 
An open and public meeting is when the majority of a governing board meets to discuss 
or act upon a matter for which they have responsibility.  Public meetings include 
workshops or executive sessions, but do not include chance or social meetings.  (See 
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Utah Code 52-4-2(2)) 
 
Closed Meetings 
Per Utah Code 52-4 all meetings shall be open to the public, except for discussion of the 
following: 

• The character, competence or health of an individual. 
• Deployment of security personnel, devices, or systems. 
• Collective bargaining issues. 
• Pending or reasonably imminent litigation. 
• Purchase, exchange, lease, or sale of real property, if such discussion prevents the 

district from completing a transaction on the best possible terms. 
• Investigative proceedings regarding allegations of criminal misconduct. 

 
If a meeting is closed to discuss the character, competence or health of an individual or 
the deployment of security personnel, devices, or systems then the person presiding shall 
sign a sworn written statement affirming that the sole purpose for closing the meeting 
was to discuss these issues.  No recorded or written minutes are required when a meeting 
is closed for this purpose.   
 
If a meeting is closed for a purpose other than those mentioned in the paragraph above, 
the board must audio record the closed portion of the meeting and may keep detailed 
written minutes.  (See the Meeting Minutes section below for required elements of 
minutes of a closed meeting.)  (See Utah Code 52-4-206) 
 
Remember no resolution, contract, or appointment may be approved in a closed meeting.  
Also, a closed meeting may be held only upon the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the 
board members present at a public meeting.   
 
Public Hearing 
A public hearing is a portion of an open government meeting at which members of the 
public are provided a reasonable opportunity to comment on the subject of the hearing.  
Public hearings are required when a conservation district adopts a budget. 
 
Meeting Minutes 
It is policy of the Utah Conservation Commission that all conservation districts shall 
have written minutes of their open meetings; and, districts with annual budgets of 
more than $50,000 shall in addition audio record all open meetings. When a district 
sponsors a site visit or traveling tour where no vote or action is taken such events shall be 
summarized and recorded in the minutes of the meeting that follows the event. Written 
minutes are required to be submitted annually to the Utah Conservation Commission 
where hard copies are kept on file for three years and then submitted to the State Archive 
Division for long term storage. Audio meeting recordings shall be kept by the district for 
one year. Utah Code Title 52, Chapter 4. 
 
When a meeting (whether open or closed) is required to be recorded, the recording shall 
be complete and unedited and include all portions of the meeting from the 
commencement of the meeting through adjournment of the meeting.   
 
The minutes and recordings of open meetings are public records and must be available 
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within a reasonable time after the meeting.  A meeting record kept only by recording 
must be converted to written minutes within a reasonable time upon request.  Only 
written minutes shall be evidence of the official action taken at meetings.   
 
Both a recording and written minutes of closed meetings are protected records and may 
be disclosed pursuant to a court order only as provided in Utah Code 52-4-10.  (See page 
16 for definition of public and protected records.) 
 
Content of Minutes 
Per Utah Code 52-4 open government meeting minutes shall include the:  

• date, time and place of the meeting; 
• names of board members present and absent; 
• substance of all matters proposed, discussed, and decided;  
• votes taken by individual members;  
• names of each person who is not a member of the board, and upon recognition 

by the presiding officer, provided testimony or comments and the substance in 
brief of their testimony or comments; 

• any other information that any board member requests to be entered in the 
minutes. 

 
When a governing body within the State closes a meeting, the following must be publicly 
announced and entered on the minutes of the open meeting at which the closed meeting 
was approved: 

• the reason or reasons for holding the closed meeting;  
• the location where the closed meeting will be held;  
• and the vote of each member, either for or against the motion. 

 
The recorded and any written minutes of a closed meeting shall include the: 

• date, time and place of the meeting; 
• names of board members present and absent; 
• names of all others present except where the disclosure would infringe on the 

confidentiality necessary to fulfill the original purpose of closing the meeting. 
 
Notice Requirements 
Per Utah Code 52-4 all government entities that hold regular meetings that are 
scheduled in advance over the course of a year shall give public notice at least once a 
year of its meeting schedule, giving dates, time, and place.  If regular meetings are 
not held, the board shall give no less than 24 hours public notice specifying the date, 
time, and place of the meeting. This is also UCC policy for all conservation districts. 
 
All meetings whether regularly scheduled in advance over the course of a year or 
scheduled as needed must provide no less than 24 hours notice of meeting agendas. 
 
The method of providing public notice for meetings and agendas depends upon whether a 
public hearing will be held during a portion of the meeting.  It is important to distinguish 
between notice requirements for regular meetings and notice requirements for a public 
hearing. 
 
The table below contrasts notice requirements for a regular meeting and a public hearing 
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held for the purpose of adopting a budget. 
 

Requirement Regular Meeting Public Hearing 
Media Must notify at least one newspaper of 

general circulation within the district’s 
boundaries, or a local media 
correspondent.  The district does not 
need to pay for this notice and the 
newspaper may or may not choose to 
publish the notice.  

Must publish notice in at least 
one issue of a newspaper of 
general circulation in which 
the district is located.  If the 
newspaper requires payment 
to publish the notice, then the 
district should pay the fee.  If 
a newspaper of general 
circulation is not available, 
then post written notice in 
three public places within the 
district. 

Posting Post written notice at the principal 
office of the public body, or if no such 
office exists, at the building where the 
meeting is to be held. 

(Same as Regular Meeting) 
 

Number of days At least 24 hours before meeting. At least 7 days prior to the 
hearing. 

 
Utah Public Notice Web-Site 
Beginning on April 1, 2008 notice of an open meeting and meeting agendas for 
government entities with large budgets must also be posted on the Utah Public Notice 
Web-Site.  However, local districts with an annual budget less than $1 million are 
encouraged but not required to post notice on the Web-site.  (See Utah Code 52-4-202 to 
208). If a conservation district wants to advertise their meetings on this Web-site contact 
the Conservation Commission office, see page 19 for contact information.  
 
Agendas 
As required in the Open Meetings law, a board is required to give no less than 24 hours 
notice of meeting agendas.  The 2006 legislative session further defined agenda 
requirements as follows: 

• Agendas must provide reasonable specificity to notify the public as to the topics 
to be considered. 

• Each topic shall be listed under an agenda item on the meeting agenda. 
• The board may not consider a topic in an open meeting that was not on the 

agenda. 
• The board may discuss a topic raised during an open meeting that was not on the 

agenda, but it may not take final action during that meeting.  
 
Emergency Meetings 
A governmental entity within the state may call an emergency meeting to discuss an 
urgent matter due to unforeseen circumstances.  When an emergency meeting is 
determined necessary the following is required: 
 ● give the best notice practicable of the time, place and topics to be considered, 
 ● attempt to contact all board members and 
 ● a majority of the board members must approve the meeting. (See Utah Code 52-4-
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2-2(5) 
 

BUDGETING 
 
Utah Code 17B-1-605 to 611; 613 to 615; 701 and 702; all deal with budgeting for local 
districts. 
 
It is policy of the UCC that a conservation district has a current budget for each fiscal 
year that has been formally presented in a hearing and adopted by the board. A budget 
is an important way for the public to have input on local government entities expenditures 
and plans.  Upon formal adoption, the budget constitutes spending authority for the 
district and a formal plan for spending.  At adoption, the district has legally bound itself 
to spend this much and no more.  Any expenditure in excess of the budget is illegal, even 
if the district has money available to spend. 
 
Budget Amendments 
Original budgets may be amended during the budget year to increase the original budget; 
however, budgets may not be changed after the budget year end.  Generally, budget 
amendments must follow the same procedures as the adoption of the original budget 
(public notice and hearing); however, there are some exceptions. 
 
A governing board may move budgeted expenditures from one budgeted line item to 
another without a public hearing.  Adjusting line items is allowed as long as they are 
within the same fund and as long as the adjustment does not increase total expenditures 
or involve reducing the amount budgeted for debt retirement or reduction of a deficit (see 
Utah Code 17B1-620 for local districts requirements). 
 
Budget Calendar 
The budget process must be completed before the budget year begins.  It is policy of the 
UCC that the budget year, or fiscal year, of all Utah conservation districts is July 1 – 
June 30; the same as their creating and sustaining legal entities the UCC and Utah Dept. 
of Agriculture and Food. Following is a budget calendar for conservation districts with a 
June 30 year end.   
 
April 
The budget officer prepares a tentative budget for the conservation district board to 
review at its meeting in May.   
 
May 
At its May meeting the conservation district board shall: 

• Approve a tentative budget. 
• Set a budget hearing date. 

 
During May or June, but at least 7 days before the hearing date, public notice must be 
given of the hearing.  (Public Notice means publication in at least one issue of a 
newspaper of general circulation.  If the district's area has no newspaper of general 
circulation, then the notice may be posted in three public places.) 
 
The tentative conservation district budget must be available to the public for seven days 
before the final adoption of the budget. 
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June 
Hold the hearing.  Formally adopt a final budget.  Send one original of the final budget to 
the Utah Conservation Commission Office within 30 days.  Keep the other original for 
district use and public inspection.  (See Appendix A for a sample budget form.)  It is 
policy of the UCC that a summary of the State’s conservation districts budgets will be 
compiled and sent to the State Auditor’s Office. 
 

ACCOUNTING 
  
Accounting is the process of keeping track of money, other items of worth called assets, 
and what is owed to others.  It is very important for a conservation district to accurately 
keep track of such information, not only for its own use, but also to be able to be 
accountable to its constituents and to complete legally required reports. 
 
Accounting need not be complicated.  All it requires for small budget local districts is a 
carefully kept and readable checkbook which has been reconciled to the bank statements.  
The following should be done: 

• All money coming into the district should be deposited into the checking account 
and recorded in the checkbook. (The only exception may be interest on savings or 
investments which automatically stay in that account.) 

• All payments made by the district should be made by check. (No exceptions) 
• A running checkbook balance should be kept. 
• All entries made in the checkbook should be: 

o immediate, so nothing is forgotten 
o clearly written  
o well explained (for example, it is not necessary to write "Deposit" because 

that is obvious by the column it is placed in, but it is necessary to explain 
where it came from and what it was for.) 

 
The checkbook should be reconciled monthly to the bank statement.  (Bank statements 
and check registers should be kept for 4 and 7 years respectively.)  

 
The checkbook should be the official financial record of the conservation district and 
should be safeguarded.  The balances, deposits and check amounts in the checkbook 
should be used to complete the required annual financial statements.  (See Appendix B 
for a sample financial statement form.) 
 

REQUIRED REPORTS 
 
The following schedule shows the reports that are required by law and it is the UCC 
policy for conservation districts, when they are due, and where they should be sent: 
 
Reports that should be sent to the Utah Conservation Commission, PO Box 146500 
Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
 
       Report   When Due   
1.  Adopted  30 Days after Adoption   
     Budget    (Usually In July)        
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2.  Financial  90 Days after Year End       
     Statements  (Usually By September 30)       

 
3.  2 Year Project  90 Days after Year End          
      Funding Needs (Usually By September 30)   
 
4.  Previous Years 90 Days after Year End 
     Progress Report (Usually By September 30)   
 
5.  Yearly Plan of 90 Days after Year End   
      Work  (Usually By September 30)   
 
Reports that should be sent to the Utah State Treasurer, PO Box 142315, Salt Lake City, 
UT 84114. 
 
       Report   When Due   
6.  Investment  As Requested         
     Report  (Usually Twice A Year)      
 
The forms for the UCC reports are available at: 
http://ag.utah.gov/conservation/UtahConservationCommission.html and they are also sent 
to each CD annually.  Please see the Appendix for an example of each of these reports. 
Submittal of next fiscal year budget and plan of work and, past fiscal year financial and 
program reports are required before the conservation district’s next fiscal year state 
funding allocation is paid. 
 
Financial Statement Requirements 
Utah Code 51-2a-201 outlines reporting requirements for all government entities.  If 
revenues or expenditures of all funds are: 

• greater than $350,000 – an independent audit is required; 
• between $200,000 and $350,000 – an independent review is required; 
• between $100,000 and $200,000 – an independent compilation is required; 
• less than $100,000 – a report may be completed on forms provided by the Utah 

Conservation Commission 
 
The following describes the different types of financial reports: 

• Audit – an examination completed by an independent certified public accountant 
(CPA).  Reasonable assurance that the financial statements are fairly presented is 
provided. 

• Review – an examination completed by an independent CPA.  Limited assurance 
that the financial statements are fairly presented is provided.   

• Compilation – a report completed by a CPA.  No assurance that the financial 
statements are fairly presented is provided.  The CPA assists in the preparation of 
financial statements that conform to professional reporting standards.  

• Conservation Commission Form – a form that contains a Certification, Balance 
Sheet, and Statement of Revenues and Expenses.  This form is generally prepared 
by the district budget officer who may receive assistance from our office, a CPA 
or other qualified individual. 
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A conservation district may choose to have a report prepared that exceeds the reporting 
requirements outlined above if the district wants to obtain greater assurance that their 
financial statements are correct.  For example, a district with $150,000 in revenues may 
choose to have an audit when only a compilation is required.  
 

INTERNAL CONTROL 
 
An internal control is a process designed to provide reasonable assurance regarding the 
achievement of objectives.  For example, if the objective is to minimize the risk that 
district assets (cash, equipment, etc.) will be lost or stolen then procedures would be 
designed that separate responsibilities and put a system of checks and balances into place. 
 
Internal control is meant to keep honest people honest and to protect those who handle 
the money and other assets.  In order to properly design “checks and balances,” usually 
several people will be involved in the accounting.  In a district with small budgets and 
limited staff, it means board members will need to help out. 
 
The following procedures should be followed by local district board members and it is 
the policy of the UCC that conservation districts follow these procedures: 

• NEVER SIGN A BLANK CHECK.  Signing blank checks is an open invitation 
for theft.  Consider writing checks monthly; then check signers are only 
inconvenienced once a month. 

• Consider requiring two signatures on checks.  Utah Code 17B-1-635(2)(b) states 
that, “In a local district with an expenditure budget of less than $50,000 per year, 
a board member shall also sign all checks.”  This requirement may be considered 
for conservation districts larger than $50,000; however, in any case, be careful not 
to rely on the bank alone to ensure a proper payment.  Banks may process checks 
requiring dual signatures with only a single signature. 

• The whole board should review the deposits and checks at least every quarter and 
ask questions if something is unclear or looks unusual. 

• The monthly reconciliation of the checkbook to the bank statement should be 
made, or at least reviewed, by a supervisor who does not sign checks. 

• All board members should take a healthy interest in the finances of the 
conservation district by reviewing the annual financial statements and physically 
inspecting other assets, like pipes, trucks, range drills, etc., to be sure they exist 
and are in good condition. 

 
PERSONNEL 

 
Personnel Policy 
Utah Code 17B-1-801 to 803 addresses personnel matters.  Generally, this part does not 
apply to districts with annual revenues less than $50,000.  It is UCC policy that 
conservation districts that have part-time or full-time employees have a personnel 
policy to ensure they conform to requirements of state and federal law; and, that the 
district board reviews the policy annually. 
 
A model personnel policy is available by contacting the Utah Association of 
Conservation Districts. If you have a special situation, you should contact your county 
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attorney, State attorney, UACD or the UCC for assistance. 
 
Following is a list of items that should be considered when developing a personnel 
policy.  The list is not all inclusive, but is intended to be a starting point: 

• Vacation, Sick Leave and Holidays 
• Reimbursement of expenses such as mileage, meals and lodging while traveling 
• Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) 
• Grievance process 
• Work hours, approval of leave and overtime pay 
• Reporting of accidents (vehicle and workers compensation) 
• Sexual Harassment 
• Illegal Drugs 
 

 Independent Contractor or Employee 
As a potential employer, a conservation district may choose to hire an employee to get a 
job done or hire an independent contractor.  The district board should consider the 
following factors in making a decision: 

• An employee may receive benefits, including health insurance, retirement, etc., as 
provided for in the conservation district personnel policy.  An independent 
contractor is not provided these benefits. 

• An employer must withhold federal and state income taxes, pay social security 
taxes, workers compensation insurance, and unemployment insurance for an 
employee.  These taxes and insurances generally are not paid for an independent 
contractor. Call the Workers' Compensation Fund at (801)288-8000 or the Utah 
Local Governments Trust at 1-800-748-4440 for details. 

• Terminating an employee would follow the written policy of the conservation 
district and could be more difficult than canceling a contract with an independent 
contractor. 

• The board may specify the results desired, but generally does not control the work 
hours and day-to-day performance of work for an independent contractor.  An 
employee may be given explicit directions about how, when, and where to 
perform a job and may be closely supervised. 

 
For additional information on factors determining if a person is an employee or 
independent contractors please see IRS Publication 1779. 

 
PURCHASING 

  
Utah Code 17B-1-618 requires that all purchases by a local district be made according to 
the purchasing procedures established by each district by resolution and only on an order 
or approval of the person duly authorized. It is the policy of the UCC that a conservation 
district develop and follow a purchasing policy. 
 
There are no limitations as to who the agent may be as long as he/she is authorized to do 
the purchasing by the district board. 
 
Essentially, a purchasing policy should establish a competitive procurement process 
which safeguards against conflicts of interest and balances the efficient operations of the 
district.  Utah Code 63-56 deals with the subject of purchasing. 
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A model purchasing policy is available by contacting the Utah Association of Special 
Districts, or the Utah Conservation Commission.  If you have a special situation, you 
should contact your county attorney for assistance. 
 
The following is a list of items that should be considered when developing a purchasing 
policy.  The list and amounts are for example purposes only and are not all inclusive, but 
are intended to be a starting point for a district to develop a policy of their own: 

• Amount under which competitive quotes are not required.   
o (Example – Purchases less than $500 do not require competitive quotes.) 

• Amount over which verbal quotes will be obtained.   
o (Example – Purchases between $501 and $2,000 require at least two 

verbal quotes.)  
• Amount over which written quotes will be obtained.   

o (Example – Purchases between $2,001 and $50,000 require at least three 
written quotes) 

• Amount over which public advertising is required.   
o (Example – Purchases greater than $10,001 will be publicly advertised and 

require at least three written quotes.) 
• Method of soliciting quotes. 
• Purchases made from a single or sole source provider. 
• Emergency purchases. 
• Cancellation and rejection of bids. 

 
Construction Projects 
Procurement for construction projects is subject to Utah Code 11-39, which, among other 
things, mandates bidding on most building and public works construction projects and 
specifies how the bidding is to proceed. 

 
RECORDS (GRAMA) 

 
Utah Code 63G-2 addresses Government Records Access and Management Act 
(GRAMA).  It recognizes that the public has a right to access information regarding the 
conduct of the public's business and the right of privacy in relation to personal data 
gathered by governmental entities.   
 
Policy 
A conservation district may either adopt its own records policy (which must adhere to 
Utah Code guidelines) or, it will automatically fall under the policies in Utah Code.  
Either way, the district has a policy. 
 
Record Series  
A record series is a group of identical or related records, files, or documents created by 
the conservation district that are used or filed together, and that allow you to determine 
retention and disposition.  A district needs to identify all of their record series.  For 
example, deposits, bank statements, and reconciliations would be one record series. 
 
Retention  
The State Archives is available as a resource to help you with this issue.  There are 
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different retention requirements for each record series.  It is policy of the UCC that 
conservation districts follow record retention schedules for municipalities. This 
retention schedule table can be found at: 
http://archives.utah.gov/recordsmanagement/grs/municipalgrs.pdf or to get help call or 
write to: Rosemary Cundiff 
Utah State Archives and Records Service 
346 South Rio Grande 
Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1106 
(801) 531-3866 
 
Classification 
Classification indicates the level of access to conservation district records.  A 
classification is assigned to each record series.  There are four classifications allowed by 
the law: public, private, controlled and protected.  Only public records are open to the 
public (most records are public).  Some record series may have more than one 
classification.  If you need help contact the State Archives. 
 

• Public records are records that are open to everyone.  They include: 
o Minutes from open meetings. 
o Compensation paid to a contractor. 
o Names, gender and gross compensation paid to public employees. 

 
• Private records are information about individuals that may only be accessed by 

those individuals and others specified in Utah Code 63G-2-202.  They include: 
o Unemployment insurance, social service and welfare benefits. 
o Medical history, diagnosis, condition, treatment and evaluation. 
o Public employees home address, home telephone number, social security 

number and marital status. 
 

• Controlled records are records that may only be released to certain individuals 
such as social workers and health care providers and may not be disclosed to the 
individual to whom they pertain.  They include: 

o Medical, psychiatric, or psychological data. 
o Information detrimental to the subject’s mental health or to the safety of 

any individual. 
 

• Protected records are non-personal data that may only be released to the person 
who submitted the information.  They include: 

o Trade secrets. 
o Test questions and answers. 
o Records that would jeopardize the life or safety of an individual. 
o Records that would jeopardize the security of a correctional facility. 

 
 
 
The following is a schedule of records a district may typically have; it includes the type 
of record, classification and retention requirements. 
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Record     Classification    Retention 
Meeting Minutes   Public    Permanent 
Meeting Agenda   Public    2 Years 
Annual Financial Reports  Public    Permanent 
Budgets    Public    Permanent 
Bank Statements   Public    4 Years 
General Ledger   Public    10 Years 
Timesheets    Public    3 Years 
Accounts Payable and Receivable Public    4 Years 
Deposit Slips    Public    4 Years 
Check Register   Public    7 Years 
Receipt Books    Public     3 Years 
Fixed Asset Lists   Public    10 Years 
 
Fees 
Government entities, including conservation districts, are required to adopt a uniform fee 
structure if it decides to charge for making copies for the public.  They could also decide 
whether an hourly research fee should be charged to the public.  Such fees should cover 
costs and be reasonable. 
 
Access 
In the interest of security and keeping records in their proper place government entities 
personnel should not allow individuals to thumb through records.  Requests for copies of 
records from the public should be specific.  These requests may be written or verbal as 
long as they are consistent with district policy.  For more information on how to handle 
record requests you can go to http://archives.utah.gov/recordsmanagement/index.html.  
 

INSURANCE 
 

It is UCC policy that all conservation district treasurers be bonded in accordance with 
Rule Number 4 of the Utah State Money Management Council.  Utah Code 51-7-3(25) 
states that, “A ‘Public Treasurer’ includes … the official of any…political subdivision, 
or other public body who has the responsibility for the safekeeping and investment of 
any public funds.”  This is a broad definition that includes the person or persons of a 
conservation district with the responsibilities described in the “Board Member Basic 
Governance and Accountability Responsibilities” section of this manual, see page 1 - 2.   
 
The schedule on the next page sets forth the amount for which each conservation district 
treasurer should be bonded according to the annual budget for the governmental unit.  
The basis used shall be budgeted gross revenue for the previous year.  Budgeted gross 
revenue includes all funds collected or handled by the public treasurer.   
 

Budget Percent for Bond Minimum Bond 
$0 to 10,000 N/A $0 
$10,001 to $100,000 9% but not less than $5,000 
$100,001 to $500,000 8% but not less than $9,000 
$500,001 to $1,000,000 7% but not less than $40,000 
$1,000,001 to $5,00,000 6% but not less than $70,000 
$5,000,001 to $10,000,000 5% but not less than $300,000 
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$10,000,001 to $25,000,000 4% but not less than $500,000 
$25,000,001 to 50,000,000 3% but not less than $1,000,000 
$50,000,001 to $500,000,000 2% but not less than $1,500,000 
Over $500,000,000  $10,000,000 

Bonds must be issued by a corporate surety licensed to do business in the State of Utah 
and rated XII or better by the latest issue of Bests Rating Guide.  Bonds should be 
effective as of the date the treasurer assumes the duties of the office or is sworn in. 

It would also be wise to consider in which areas the conservation district and its board 
members should be insured.  In addition to bonding for the district treasurer it is the UCC 
recommendation that a conservation district with an annual operating budget of at least 
$50,000 obtain general liability insurance including officers and directors errors and 
omissions as considered appropriate by the board.   
 
The Utah Local Governments Trust was created by and for local governments in Utah to 
assist in meeting insurance needs.  They will be glad to help you with insurance matters. 
 
The Salt Lake City phone number is (801) 936-6400. 
The toll-free number is 1-800-748-4440. 
 

FUND BALANCE LIMITATION 
 

A common concern for some local districts is the accumulation of large fund balances or 
cash reserves.  Large fund balances are inappropriate for governmental units and 
generally are a violation of state law.   
 
Utah Code 17B-1-612 limits the amount that can be retained as unreserved fund balance 
in the general fund.  The accumulation of a fund balance in the general fund may not 
exceed the greater of: 

• 100% of the current year's property tax, or  
• 25% of the total general fund revenues for districts with annual general fund 

budgets greater than $100,000, or  
• 50% of the total general fund revenues for districts with annual general fund 

budgets equal to or less than $100,000. 
 
The most common criteria will be 50% of total general fund revenue for conservation 
districts since they do not have taxing authority and have annual revenue less than 
$100,000. 
 
There are provisions in the law that allow the local districts to accumulate funds for the 
purpose of financing future specific capital projects, including new construction, capital 
repairs, replacement, and maintenance, under a formal long-range capital plan adopted 
by the board and submitted to the Auditor.  Generally, the accumulation of these funds 
should be reported in a capital projects fund. 
 
The concept is basically that a government unit should tax its constituents, or in the case 
of local districts request state funds annually from the Legislature, on a “pay as you go” 
basis.  This means that purchases of economic resources which benefit taxpayers today 

 19 



 20 

should not be made with funds accumulated from prior taxpayers or by issuing excessive 
debt that places the burden on future taxpayers.  Essentially, taxpayers should be allowed 
to determine the best use of their funds while being taxed in a manner that allows a 
government unit to meet its current obligations. 
   
 


